LCD Soundsystem – This is Happening

May 25, 2010

I liked this new album by LCD Soundsystem way more than I thought I would. And I like it more and more the more I listen to it.

The big problem was that I didn’t hear the lp until it was actually, officially released. And, in the weeks leading up to that, I heard the first single, “Drunk Girls,” too many times. That’s an ok track, but falls well short of the highlights like “Somewhat Great” and “All My Friends” from the previous album “Sound of Silver.” But since it runs only 3 1/2 minutes, it got played on commercial stations that can’t play longer tracks because then it’s too long before they can get back to playing commercials, which is really what they are in business to do. So the whole thing came off like the “hit” that, later on on “This is Happening,” James Murphy assures us he doesn’t do.

So all of that lowered my expectations. But, as it turns out, I shouldn’t have worried, because the rest of “This is Happening” is absolutely fantastic. In fact, if you start with “One Touch,” and play it though the end, you essentially have a 7-track, 53-minute album that may not reach the peaks achieved by “Sound of Silver” but which, on the other hand, is probably more consistent and may be just as good.

I’ve read that Murphy plans to make “This is Happening” the last LCD Soundsystem record. If so, that’ll make a total of three pretty close to perfect lps. Not a bad run; and kind of classy to go out on top. Even the most dubious characters from Murphy’s songs would see the virtue in that. Certainly, I do.

One Response to “LCD Soundsystem – This is Happening”


  1. This just depends whether you like how This Is Happening is long and sprawling or the more poppy and commercial Sound of Silver. It’s probably unfair to compare the two since they’re very different records in many ways, but even I did this when I reviewed LCD a few weeks ago.
    Still, good review. Love the blog 🙂


Leave a Reply

