Yeti – Volume 8

December 17, 2009

Just finished reading through Yeti’s Volume 8. A lot of excellent stuff, as always.

Including a great interview with Jim Dickinson, an insightful essay about the lost tapes from the 1981 collaboration between Bernard Edwards, Nile Rodgers, and Johnny Mathis, and a quite interesting short article on synthesizer design by Jessica Rylan. That last piece features my favorite quote: “I spent a long time teaching myself electronics, but eventually I went back to school to get a Bachelor’s in Electrical Engineering …. It’s helped a lot to learn to analyze things mathematically. Though the most interesting, chaotic stuff that my synthesizers do can’t be explained mathematically. That’s why I know I’m still an artist–I believe in science and magic at the same time.”

Leave a Reply

