Chriss Sutherland – Worried Love

May 18, 2009

Chriss Sutherland, Worried Love, Peapod Recordings 2009

Chriss Sutherland, Worried Love, Peapod Recordings 2009

Chriss Sutherland is a member of Fire on Fire, a band from South Portland, Maine that put out an excellent album called “The Orchard” late last year. Here’s how Chriss describes himself and his work on his Myspace page: “I make my own music outside of myself. Songs. Words. I’m influenced by all the life and lives around me including my own. I think music and art and its creation should be a daily endeavor minus as much BS as possible.”

“Amen, especially to that last part,” is what I say.

But, I mention all this now because Chriss has a new record just out on his own — his second I believe – titled “Worried Love.”  Ten tracks, kind of folk, a little bit old-timey but with brilliant guitar work that’ll sometimes remind you of Neil Young’s best stuff, and affecting lyrics, some in Spanish.  In other words, really nice stuff.

And you can download one of the best tracks, “What Are We Gonna Do Now?” from the Peapod Recordings webpage.

Leave a comment